Changes to the Visa Waiver Program Enacted in the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2016

On December 18, 2015, the 2016 Consolidated Appropriations Act (H.R. 2029) was signed into law including provisions that change the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). Changes to the VWP include:

  • Individuals who have been present in Iraq, Syria, Iran, or Sudan at any time on or after March 1, 2011, are not eligible to participate in the VWP (excluding military and national security exemptions).
  • Nationals of Iraq, Syria, Iran, or Sudan are excluded from participating in the VWP. (Please note that an individual may be a national of a particular country, even if he or she has never resided in that country and/or does not have a passport issued by that country).

AILA Doc No. 15122130 | Dated December 21, 2015


For more information on changes to the Visa Waiver Program, please contact: Lisa M. Ventresca at 724-940-5901 (PA) or contact Lisa Ventresca online. We will respond as soon as possible.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.